Grill tank for gas logs? - Carolina Fish Talk
  Carolina Fish Talk  


Go Back   Carolina Fish Talk > Market Place & Misc Topics > Off Topics and Non-Fish Discussion

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By orangehatguy

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-20-2012, 02:14 PM
magicpenny75's Avatar
Senior Member
Silverside
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,030
Default Grill tank for gas logs?

OK I have googled this til i'm blue with no answer. I have a ventless gas fireplace in my house, and due to code changes I can't get the gas company to put a tank outside because it is suddenly too close to the windows flanking my fireplace. Why anyone would run the gas logs with the windows open is a topic for another day.
Anyway - my choices are: rip out the gas logs, petition the neighborhood to get PNC to run lines in (yeah right), pay the gas company a zillion dollars to run gas lines all the way around the slab from the clear other side of the house to meet code, or buy my own tank and hook it up to the logs ourselves.
Can anyone tell me how to do this? How to make the connection between a 20/50 lb propane tank and the hose sticking out of the ground behind my fireplace?
I'll give ya a Kenya Tree lol...or pretty much anything you want out of my aquarium if ya wanna come hook us up!
__________________
Mean Scallop *grr*
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-20-2012, 02:23 PM
Senior Member
Tiger Fish
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wilson, N.C.
Posts: 4,353
Default

It's possible, you can run a whole house like this... If I was nearer I'd come by, but it'll happen!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-20-2012, 02:32 PM
magicpenny75's Avatar
Senior Member
Silverside
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,030
Default

My husband is good with all this stuff, having worked in the marine and diesel fields his whole life, but we just don't know what the "thingy" is to connect the two...if someone can tell us what to buy that would probably solve the problem.
__________________
Mean Scallop *grr*
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-20-2012, 04:20 PM
andru881's Avatar
Senior Member
Noctiluca
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: germanton
Posts: 142
Default

I just got done rigging up a large propane tank myself. Just make sure you use the right regulator.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-20-2012, 04:43 PM
magicpenny75's Avatar
Senior Member
Silverside
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,030
Default

Does anyone know how I find out what the right regulator is?
All I have on the hose from the house is a threaded cap like a water hose. No one at Lowe's or Home Depot had any idea what would be needed.
__________________
Mean Scallop *grr*
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-20-2012, 05:00 PM
Senior Member
Mosquitofish
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: York, SC
Posts: 499
Default

Tractor Supply has a good inventory of propane fittings. I would check with them if there is one close to you.

Try looking here:
Heating | Propane Heaters & Accessories | Propane Fittings & Parts at Tractor Supply Co.
magicpenny75 likes this.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-25-2012, 11:05 AM
goingcoastal's Avatar
Senior Member
Silverside
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: western north carolina
Posts: 1,761
Default

I done this once years ago
__________________
A TANK IS NEVER BIG ENOUGH!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO