Hello everyone - Carolina Fish Talk

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-29-2018, 11:22 PM Thread Starter

Hello everyone

I'm new to this hobby but already my roommate and I have gotten an interesting collection of fish and tanks. I've even had a successful (though accidental) breeding. I've run into a few issues but hopefully I can find the help I need here to keep my fish happy and healthy
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-30-2018, 11:10 AM
Super Moderator
Bowfin

Welcome, feel free to ask your questions!
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-30-2018, 04:44 PM Thread Starter

Well my main issue is finding food for my fry, I've tried alternatives but I really think my results will skyrocket with live food.
My second biggest is keeping the tanks clean, and algea free.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-30-2018, 09:58 PM
Jedi Knight
Bowfin

Don't worry about "clean and algae free" if you're trying to save fry. They'll survive and grow better in a not-too-clean tank, which has more natural food available (rotifers, nematodes, etc). I responded to your PM about live foods. What kind of fish had babies?
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-30-2018, 11:16 PM Thread Starter

My Cory cats had fry a while back and I lost a bunch of the babies, I assume to lack of proper food. But one of the females is looking fat again and I've lost 3 batches since where the eggs haven't even hatched. I've got a tank of young Cory cats that may or may not breed soon as well, they have been nudging each others bellies and eating more food lately.
I'm only concerned with algea because it's killing the filter and covering everything, my downstairs tank is getting the brownish slime like algea, while my other tanks get mossy green blooms that dont bother things too much.the downstairs tank is supposed to be a planted tank but nothing survIves besides moss balls and slime, and very resilient fish.