Carolina Fish Talk Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm pretty new to this salt set up. I actually had a 55g set up about 10 years ago but it was very basic at the time.

I've just cycled a 72g bf. Salinity is 1.023, Ammonia 0ppm, Nitrites 0ppm, and Nitrates are running between 5-10 ppm with a Temp around 78-79 degrees.

My set up consists of LED's in a canopy running approximately 9 hours a day at full power and actinics only for about an additional hour. No idea why, it's just what I did with the timer. I have a 20g sump/fuge with a skimmer set up in the first compartment with the overflow, a 3-4 inch sandbed + LR rubble in the middle and the return pump in the third compartment.

All water was made with a 4 stage ro/di BRS filtration unit.

Currently I have approxmimately 10 blue leg hermits, 7 astria snails, 3 Tongan snails and 1 Emerald Crab. I have 3 Chromis, 1 Royal Gramma and 1 Lawnmower Blenny.

I'm feeding 1 time per day, 1/2 cube of mysis shrimp placed into a cup of tank water to unfreeze.

I'm exeriencing quite a bit of green hair algae and green bubble algae in the display on some of the live rock and sandbed.

First question, is that clean up crew sufficient or would I be wise to invest in more inverts for 72 gallons, or should I shorten the photoperiod.

Next, I have quite a bit of slime algae in the sump/fuge. Could this be hitching a ride on the return pump and promoting the growth in the display tank? Also, I'm looking to add Chaeto in an effort to lower nitrates and restrict the nutrient load for other nuisance algae. Is it beneficial to add inverts to the sump/fuge to take care of the slime algae that will not eat the chaeto and what types won't eat the chaeto? FYI the skimmer and a lamp are on a 12 hour timer (overnight) in the sump / fuge.