Carolina Fish Talk Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty new to this and i'm building a tank for mainly growing corals of all kinds. My tank is only 12 inches in height so I was wanting your opinions on what would be a good lighting setup for my tank. I would like something cheaper but reliable so nothing really sketch. I like the USA freshwater LED plus but has anybody ever used it for salt water. LFS said it has plenty of light to grow anything since my tank is so shallow. 48X18x12 40 gallon

·
Registered
1,496 Posts
You really want to decide what type of corals you want to keep, softies, lps or sps. In a deeper tank you can do a mixed reef but in a tank as shallow as that you won't have enough light dissipation to accommodate growing the really high light critters like clams and sps up top without frying anything soft or lower light on the bottom and visa versa. Once you have made that decision it will be a lot easier to determine appropriate lighting choices. While not down talking your Lfs I will tell you to take everything they say with a grain of salt, they're a business and they are there to make money. I would recommend picking up a copy of Larry a Moes beginner to breeder. Delbeeks reef aquarium series are a must have but may be intimidating if you don't have a firm grasp of the basics.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
So i won't be able to grow more than one type of coral? That saddens me and almost makes me want to return it for something else.... but if i had to choose it would be LPS corals so for this shallow tank what would be a good light to grow LPS corals and could a clam live with the same light

·
Registered
882 Posts