Carolina Fish Talk Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello everyone I have decided that I would like to build an led light for my 125, however I have no clue where to start.. I am looking for the cheapest way possible (which is why i figured i would build it).. I don't have anything too picky as nothing has died or wilted on me in the past few months and I have been using a 50/50 bulb in an old standard aquarium fixture. Some of my corals are xenia, polyps, zoas, frogspawn, and a kenya tree.... ANy help to steer me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated. Thanks yall.. I want to do it the cheapest way possible without a dimmer for now :)

·
Registered
714 Posts
I'm not an expert by any means but I don't think making it dimmable will add too much to your build.

I know ledgroupbuy.com has some example builds and I'm sure a 125 is included in that...

I'm a big big fan of the makersLED heatsinks. I'd planned to build for my 24 but honestly I found one on ebay cheaper than I could build for...might be worth looking that route as well.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
what exactly do I need to look for when buying an led also..I am clueless in this area lol..

·
Registered
3,757 Posts
What are your livestock plans? If this is just going to be a softie/lps tank you will probably be better off buying a cheap led fixture. You can purchase one for around $200 that would be great on a softie tank. I know when I was looking at building my own leds for my 90 it was going to run me around $600 for a dimable setup, not to mention all the time to build it. And I opted to just buy a pair of fixtures.