Carolina Fish Talk Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi! My name is Ellen and I am just starting to learn about my aquarium, and I love my fish!

This all started last fall when my teenage daughter came home from the state fair with a goldfish - a present from her boyfriend, he "won" it....

Goldie died rather quickly after I had bought a small all-in-one tank (~2gallons). She then came home with a 10 gallon tank and a bunch of GLO fish and some other spotted ones. They have been doing well, but then the Spotties have died. Last week little Yellow seemed sick and we did the 5-in-1 strip test and the nitrites are off the charts! (nitrates almost nonexistent and no ammonia). Since then I am in emergency mode and haven't been off the computer, other than going to the fish store to get who-knows-what supplies, water changes, and too-many-to-count drops of Prime in the tank. I have also set up the little 2g thing as a quarantine tank and moved little Yellow over there, along with a new aerator as I don't think the filter is bubbling enough to get him enough O2. Little Yellow likes it much better over there but definitely is still not out of the woods.... not eating but at least swimming all the time now (before he mostly laid on the bottom for a day or so!). The 10 G tank still has Nitrites through the roof. When I have changed the water multiple times a day (like 1 time in the morning, and one time at night, like a 10-20% water change. I changed it 3 times the last 2 days though. I have put in the bacteria stuff at least 15 minutes after cycling the water as well. Anyway, if I can get through this I hope to get a bigger tank! My daughter thinks I am crazy but oh well :)

Ok, I have a very stupid question.... what is the difference between RO water and distilled water? I started out using distilled water from Walmart but have pretty much turned to tap water with Prime (or water conditioner before lil Yellow got sick).